Walking With Our Sisters

Sisters and Brothers,
PSAC is extremely proud to support Walking With Our Sisters and I strongly encourage you to visit the memorial.
Walking With Our Sisters is a commemoration honouring missing and murdered Indigenous women, girls and Two-Spirited people through ceremony, community and reflection. It presents more than 1800 pairs of moccasin tops (vamps) made by contributing artists. The moccasins are unfinished, symbolizing over 1180 sisters, mothers, aunties, daughters, cousins, grandmothers, wives and partners whose lives were tragically cut short over the last thirty years. Many have vanished without a trace, and their cases have often been inadequately investigated, neglected or ignored.
The vamps are arranged on the floor in a winding formation and visitors remove their shoes to walk alongside them on a pathway of cloth, to show solidarity and respect. Organized by local Elders and volunteers and guided by the Walking With Our Sisters National Collective, this community-based project holds space for ceremony and healing. Those who are gone were cared for, they were loved, and they are not forgotten. 
Art Gallery hours for the duration of the Walking With Our Sisters:
Saturday January 14 Opening Ceremony, 2pm
Sunday January 15 Noon-5pm
Monday January 16 closed
Tuesday January 17 11am-5pm
Wednesday January 18 11am-8pm
Thursday January 19 through
Sunday January 22 11am - 5pm
Monday January 23 closed
Tuesday January 24 11am-5pm
Wednesday January 25 11am-8pm
Thursday January 26 through
Tuesday January 31 11am-5pm
Wednesday February 1 11am-2pm with Closing Ceremony, 2pm
Mount Saint Vincent University, 166 Bedford Highway, 1st floor Seton Academic Building, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3M 2J6
Public Service Alliance of Canada; Government Services Union-PSAC; PSAC Area Council; Grants from Arts Nova Scotia and the Halifax Regional Municipality are gratefully acknowledged. We also thank these generous contributors: Calvin Presbyterian Church, Mission & Outreach; Kairos Ottawa; Kairos Halifax; The Sisters of Charity; Women’s Community Space and YWCA Halifax.
Information taken from MSVU Art Gallery.
In solidarity,
Jeannie Baldwin
Regional Executive Vice-President, Atlantic // Vice-présidente exécutive régionale, Atlantique
301-287 Lacewood Drive, Halifax, NS B3M 3Y7
Tel.: 1.888.808.5544
Fax: 902.443.8291